About us

The Southern African Development Coordinating Conference (SADCC), established on 1 April 1980 was the precursor of the Southern African Development Community (SADC). The SADCC was transformed into the SADC on 17 August 1992 in Windhoek, Namibia where the SADC Treaty was adopted, redefining the basis of cooperation among Member States from a loose association into a legally binding arrangement.

The main objectives of SADC are to achieve development, peace and security, and economic growth, to alleviate poverty, enhance the standard and quality of life of the peoples of Southern Africa, and support the socially disadvantaged through regional integration, built on democratic principles and equitable and sustainable development.

The SADC Disaster Risk Reduction Unit is responsible for coordinating regional preparedness and response programmes for trans‐boundary hazards and disasters. It is established under the Office of the Deputy Executive Secretary (ES) – Regional Integration: “to facilitate direct reporting to the ES as is the case within most Member States where Disaster Management is placed in the highest office to facilitate cooperation which is essential for effective coordination” [Ministerial Committee of the Organ Meetings MCO 2011 (Decision 17)].